Caritas Australia's National Council 

Our National Council is responsible for ensuring the promotion and implementation of Caritas Australia’s mandate. The Council provides strategic direction and timely and independent advice to the Bishops Commission for Justice and Development on the formation of policies and administration of the agency. Read more about the people on our National Council below.


Bishop Greg O'Kelly, SJ AM

Bishop Greg O'Kelly

Bishop Greg O’Kelly is the first Jesuit to have been appointed a bishop in Australia. He was made Auxiliary Bishop in Adelaide in September 2006 and Bishop of the Diocese of Port Pirie in June 2009.  His previous ministry was in education and he has held significant positions in various education bodies, Catholic and independent. He received the Order of Australia for his work in education, and is Chair of the Bishops Commission for Justice, Ecology and Development. Bishop O'Kelly has been involved with Action for World Development, Jesuit Refugee Service and was founding Chair of UNIYA, a social justice research centre.


Bishop Peter Stasiuk
Deputy Chairman

Bishop Hurley

Bishop Stasiuk is the Eparch of Saints Peter and Paul of Melbourne for Ukrainian Catholics in Australia and New Zealand. He received an Order of Australia (AM) in 2009 for his service to religion and to the community, as Bishop of the Ukrainian Catholics of Australia, New Zealand and Oceania and through his contribution to Catholic welfare, counselling and development programs. A Redemptorist, in 2013 he celebrated his 20th year in Australia and over 45 years as a Catholic priest. 

Mr Michael Burnett

Michael BurnettMichael is a Chartered Accountant and co-owner of Accru Hobart. Working primarily with small and medium sized businesses, Michael’s specialist technical skills include tax planning, business structures and financial management. Michael is also an auditor for a large range of entities including many clubs and associations in the non-profit sector. Michael recognizes that most small business owners and committee members have a real love of what they do and a desire to control their own destiny. He supports them with financial and tax issues, making these as hassle-free as possible, so they can spend more time working on parts of the business that they really enjoy and make them more successful.

Mrs Louise Campbell-Price
New South Wales

Louise CampbellMrs Campbell-Price is from the Maitland-Newcastle Diocese working in education within Catholic schools. Mrs Campbell-Price belongs to the tribal group Gumbainggar and is very involved in the Aboriginal Catholic Movement, believing in the importance of empowering Indigenous Australians. Mrs Campbell-Price is coordinator of the Aboriginal Catholic Ministry in Newcastle and Chair of NSW Aboriginal & Islander Catholic Council.


Mr Clyde Cosentino

Clyde Cosentino

Mr Cosentino is solicitor with extensive experience in refugee and immigration law. He worked in Cambodia from 1998 to 2001 as a refugee lawyer and administrator, and maintains strong ties with Cambodia. Mr Cosentino holds a Master of Laws and Bachelor of Theology. He has worked as Director for the Centre for Multicultural Pastoral Care in the Archdiocese of Brisbane and served on the Australian Jesuit Mission Board for three years. In 2014, Mr Cosentino was appointed Director of Evangelisation for the Archdiocese of Brisbane. He is married and has two young daughters.


Mr John Bouffler
Western Australia

John BoufflerMr Bouffler is the Executive Director of Community Employers WA, a representative body for not-for-profit employers in the community services sector. Before that, Mr Bouffler was CEO of St Vincent de Paul WA and spent over 20 years in banking and finance. He has a strong passion for international aid and development, and spent a year in Papua New Guinea as a voluntary missionary. He is involved in a number of other organisations including Lifeline, John XXIII College and Interchange WA.


Prof John Warhurst AO
Australian Capital Territory

John WarhurstJohn Warhurst AO is an experienced political scientist, with special interests in public policy, political lobbying and election campaigning. He is Emeritus Professor of Political Science at the Australian National University in Canberra. John currently serves on the board of Marist Youth Care, and in the past has served on boards for Catholic Social Services Australia and the Australian Catholic Social Justice Council. His long interest in religion and politics has led to a research fellowship on "The Faith of Australian Prime Ministers" and to publications on the church and public debate, St Mary MacKillop and Australian society, and Catholic identity and mission. He is a former President of the Australian Republican Movement and a regular contributor to Eureka Street magazine.

Sean Parnell OAM
Northern Territory

Sean ParnellSean has over 30 years’ experience in the police force and has a Masters in Theology. He is Chairman of the NT Diocesan Youth Council and a member of the NT Catholic Education Council.




Kate Fogarty

Kate FogartyKate is the Principal of Assumption College in Kilmore, Victoria, a member of the Marist Association Council.




Patrice Scales

Patrice ScalesPatrice has held senior management positions for 30 years. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is Chair of the Council of Catholic Social Services, Victoria.




Sarah Gowty
Australian Capital Territory

Sarah Gowty - National Council Member Sarah is a development practitioner with experience in government and the NGO sector. She has worked in Australia and overseas managing development and humanitarian assistance programs across Asia, the Pacific, Middle East and Africa.